How long will my Northwood University account and/or Alumni email remain active?

Current student accounts and my.northwood access will remain active until graduation or for up to 24 months after the last date of attendance.
Northwood University currently provides email accounts for active alumni through an agreement with Microsoft. These hosted alumni accounts provide a generous mailbox quota and continued access to Outlook Web Access (OWA) features. Upon graduation or retirement, an individual's Northwood Office 365 account will transition to an email-only account. To avoid losing work, users are highly encouraged to download OneDrive files and save any materials found in the My Files section from within Blackboard.
 
Although alumnus will no longer have free access to Microsoft Office programs, email will continue indefinitely if you continue to make the required bi-annual password change indicating the account is actively being used. Notifications are sent 30-, 14-, and 7-1 days prior to password expiration until the password is changed. If the password is not changed, your account (including all prior messages in your inbox) will be removed. 
 
If you are in need of University transcripts, please visit my.northwood.edu and use the "Request a Transcript" button to request an unofficial or official transcript as they are no longer available to view in Alumni accounts. If you received your Northwood diploma and no longer have an account, please visit the Alumni Email page and sign up to register for a new Northwood email account.
Student email accounts and my.northwood access remain active for up to 24 months after the last date of attendance. This allows a student to be out of current enrollment for up to two academic years without losing their student account. These accounts are purged after the 24 month time period (with prior notification) unless the student re-enrolls with Northwood University. Once the account has been purged, all emails and files are permanently deleted and are unrecoverable.
Employee email accounts and my.northwood access are disabled upon separation--and will be permanently closed. If the former employee is Northwood Alumni and wishes to retain a NU email account, they must visit the Alumni Email page to request a brand new Northwood email account.
 
This benefit and process may be subject to re-evaluation, modification and termination by the University, in its sole discretion, in the future.

Details

Article ID: 47305
Created
Tue 1/30/18 12:03 PM
Modified
Thu 11/3/22 4:58 PM

Related Services / Offerings (1)

• Request the closure of your Northwood University Account